Fall 2015

  • Elizabeth Eggleston, art teacher at McKean High School, has been named the 2016 High School Art Teacher of the Year by the Delaware Art Education Association. A graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University, Eggleston has also written curriculum for Red Clay students, developed model lessons for the Delaware Department of Education and mentored novice teachers.


    Rebecca Reed, Supervisor of Social Studies, has been awarded the Mel Miller Outstanding Social Studies Leader Award from the National Social Studies Supervisor Association.



Spring 2015

  • Stephanie Armstrong, Principal of Brandywine Springs School, received the "2015 Celebrating Women in Education Award" sponsored by Love2Educate.


    William Coughlin, Joshua Farside and Robert Naylor, science teachers at Conrad Schools of Science, were featured in an episode of Exploration Earth 2050. Set to air in fall 2015, the program focuses on Biotechnology Research, Computer Science and Biomedical Science.


    Mervin Daugherty, Superintendent, has been named the 2015–16 Delaware Superintendent of the Year by the Delaware Association of School Administrators.


    Taylor Domenici, social studies teacher at Heritage Elementary School, has been named the 2015 Delaware History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.


    Stephen Field and Reese Rigby, teachers at Cab Calloway School of the Arts, received special thanks from a team of students that won Best in the Nation in the 2014–15 Verizon Innovative App Challenge contest. As a national winner, the school earned a $20,000 cash grant to further develop or support a STEM program. Watch Team Avocado's submission video here.


    Megan Foravanti, school nurse for The Meadowood Program, has been named the Delaware School Nurse of the Year by the Delaware School Nurse Association.


    Gabrielle Koury, psychologist at Cab Calloway School of the Arts, has been named the 2015 Delaware School Psychologist of the Year by the Delaware Association of School Psychologists.


    Victor Leonard, science teacher at Alexis I. du Pont High School, has received the 2015 Luther Porter Educator Award by the Delaware Astronomical Society.


    Lewis Dual Language Elementary School has receive the 2014–15 National Award for Academic Excellence from the Embassy of Spain. Lewis is one of only seven schools in the nation to receive this award.


    Linden Hill Elementary School has been named a 2015 National Green Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education.


    Kristin McKenna, teacher at Linden Hill Elementary School, was named the 2016 Red Clay Teacher of the Year.


    Kristine Murphy, teacher at Cab Calloway School of the Arts, and John Kulesza, teacher at Conrad Schools of Science, have been named the 2015 SmartDrive Co-Teachers of the Year.


    North Star Elementary School has been selected as one of the "50 Best American Public Elementary Schools in the U.S." by thebestschools.org.


    Mike Page, science teacher at Alexis I. du Pont High School, was awarded a $25,000 grant from Lowes Home Improvement for renovations to the school's nature conservatory.


    Michael Reamer, auto-tech instructor at McKean High School, led two students to a 2nd place finish in the Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills competition. Both students earned over $25,000 in scholarships to trade schools. 


    Sonia Saunders, social studies teacher at Brandywine Springs School, has been named the state's top Geography Teacher by the Delaware Geographic Alliance.


    Jill Szymanski, social studies teacher at Brandywine Springs School, and Justine Wood, science teacher at Brandywine Springs School, participated in the Philadelphia Zoo's "Unless Project," an 8-week learning experience that challenges students to rethink recycling in order to save energy and reduce their carbon footprint. The project included a field trip to the zoo, an Environmental Night at the school and a shoe drive where families dropped off a pair of shoes to be recycled or reused.


    Twenty-six Red Clay teachers have been recognized for their work in the Delaware Teachers' Institute. Red Clay has the highest number of educators participating in the program, which has produced 55 curriculum units as of February 2015.



Fall 2014

  • Judith Conway, Supervisor of Unified Arts, was selected to join the Chinese Bridge Delegation, a group of 350 educators from throughout the United States, on a trip to China. As a delegate she traveled to Beijing and Tianjin for a week in November and had the opportunity to deepen her understanding of China, share best practices and build partnerships with Chinese schools.


    Mervin Daugherty, Superintendent of RCCSD, has received the 2014 Jobs for America's Graduates National Educational Leadership Award.


    Linda Ennis, Principal at Heritage Elementary School, has been named the principal of the new Cooke Elementary School.


    Jessica Hanger, teacher at Forest Oak Elementary School, has been named WJBR's Teacher of the Month for December 2014.


    Omeka Mumford, kindergarten teacher at Warner Elementary School, was treated to a much-deserved classroom makeover in the edTV special, Class Act. "Omeka is one of the most dedicated teachers I have ever seen," said colleague Valerie Hall, who joined friends, family and community members in transforming the space. Watch it here.


    Red Clay teams excelled at the 2014–15 Delaware Day competition, with three schools earning awards. Layla Cordwell and Gena Cawthray, teachers at Lewis Dual Language Elementary School, led their students to winning the George Read Signer Award and the Artistic Merit Award. Margo Miller, teacher at North Star Elementary School, helped her students tie for the Gunning Bedford, Jr. Signer Award. James Bencrowsky, Teresa Coates, Sara Corcoran and Courtney Kalbach, teachers at Richardson Park Elementary School, won the Artistic Merit Award.


    Denise Watson, teacher at H.B. du Pont Middle School, has earned a High Performer Award from Jobs for America’s Graduates.


    Tiffany Wyre, teacher at McKean High School, has won a Jobs for Delaware Graduates award.




linden hill